Date: 3rd April 2017 at 4:42am
Written by:

Oxford United are represented in the EFL Trophy Team of the Tournament that has been selected after this weekends Final at Wembley.

With Wembley Stadium seeing a record breaking attendance for the Final showpiece after earlier, erm, issues with the competition and the way fans took to the new format involving Category One Academy sides being invited in, a Team of the Tournament was drawn up following Coventry City’s two one victory over Oxford United.

The performances by Phil Edwards and Marvin Johnson across the competition this year was enough to earn them a place in the side alongside the other most impressive performers in the Trophy competition. Manager Michael Appleton was also named gaffer for this special selection.

I think we’ll already know ourselves why the trio were selected as part of the team but explaining the choice – the FL blurb read.


‘Edwards was a key figure for Oxford as the club booked their place in the final for a second successive season. The defender played every minute of the U’s Checkatrade Trophy campaign prior to the final, and was on the scoresheet in the 3-2 semi-final success at Luton Town.’


‘One of the main reasons behind Oxford’s run to the final, Johnson found himself on the scoresheet three times in the knock-out stages. After netting in the 4-1 win against Scunthorpe United, the winger bagged winners against Bradford City and Luton Town.’


‘After guiding Oxford to Wembley in this competition last season, Appleton repeated the feat in style. Knockout stage victories over Sky Bet League One promotion-hopefuls Southend United, Scunthorpe United and Bradford City underlined another fantastic Trophy campaign for the U’s.’

It’s always good to see the club represented in this way, and well played to all three for their recognition.

Full Team:

Jamal Blackman (Wycombe Wanderers), Ryan Haynes (Coventry City), Phil Edwards (Oxford United), Jordan Willis (Coventry City), Jack Senior (Luton Town), Marvin Johnson (Oxford United), Matt Dolan (Yeovil Town), Jodi Jones (Coventry City), Josh Murphy (Norwich City U23), Amadou Bakayogo (Walsall), Oliver McBurnie (Swansea City U23).

Manager – Michael Appleton (Oxford United).